Show reviews that mention
loan indymac bank loan modification modification mortgage indy mac home money payment
Filter review

Indymac Bank - Blind-sided by IndyMac on Second Mortgage

1.0
Details
We were notified by Green Tree Financial that the second mortgage which we took out in 2004 with IndyMac had a balloon payment due of $27,000. At no time were we ever told about a balloon payment on this loan, either at the time we took it out or before it was due. Had we known about this, we would have sold the house or refinanced it but we had no clue. If you are ever approached by IndyMac or Green Tree Financial for a loan of any type, run -- don't walk -- away as fast as you can. Both are bad news.
View full review
ID
#548950 Review #548950 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Them not telling me
Loss
$27000

Indymac Bank - One West Bank (trust fund) broke all the laws to steal my property worth $1 one half mill.

This phony Bank tells people not to pay. When I called them back to ask about fees or fines for not paying & why not to pay while waiting for Loan Mod in the mail they said, because you'll "screw up the figures" and there will be no fees or fines for doing so. Then they piled on $130,000 and put me in foreclosure. They violated every law, claimed they could not reach me for workout - oh sure in a town I have lived in 40 years, less than 1000 residents. The Help Hot Line reached me often- posting to my windows, or on my gate. On line petition to Eric Holter asked him not to let them become publicly traded since they are crooks, racketeering, probably money laundering also. What ever money they have has come from stealing the American people's homes. Looking for lawyer. Already been to court but could not win alone. They also let their lawyers and Realtor steal all of my personal property. Would not let work with me at all. Threatened me with Anti-slap lawsuit while I was suing them for fraud. Sure that applies to this issues. They should slap RICO lawsuits on them.
View full review
ID
#536950 Review #536950 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pinole, California
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$700000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Indymac Bank - Lost Thousand

Fell behind on payments and put the house on the market. Auction was scheduled for May 26, 2014. We had an offer on the house for over note amount with a 5,000.00 down payment, purchase and sales agreement and loan pre-approval from buyers. Closing Date of 6/6/14. Geronimo the employee from Indy Mac said too bad it is still getting auctioned. Needless to say the folks that had the purchase and sales agreement bought it for $10,000.00 less than the offer to me and as of Monday they still have not closed yet so I am getting late charge accruals and collection calls These people are crooks!
View full review
ID
#524240 Review #524240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hampton, New Hampshire
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$20000

The worst bank in America IndyMac bank.

I lost my home to IndyMac through a foreclosure. What happen to me is something I hope no one ever has to go through. Crazy world we live in one day all is great, the next it's fire and brimstone. My story starts with this. I had been with my partner for 23 years still madly in love and had even thought I made it my life is great all my hard work has paid off. Then a week later my partner tries to kill me he didn't plan it but his actions would have killed me he sliced me 18 times with these 21 inch headge Shears. You might be wondering wow what happened. As I struggled to get away and finally did I ran back into my home as he chasedme. Apparently he got involved in drugs and was going through a mid life crisis. I need to move forward we ended up splitting up while fighting over who gets who with our lawyers he gets fired from a 145,000 a year job. I get laid off2-3 months after he is out. I had full possession of our home ordered by the court. I called IndyMac bank pleasding for a loan modification because our house payment was behide. I was told everything from my loan didn't qualify, ignoring my request.I must have ask5 different times for a loan mod I was told my laon needs to be more behind then maybe I did what thety sad and every time the outcome was no. The bank lost my application 3 times I had a friend try to buy the home 2 months prior to foreclosure the bank said they had hundreds of applications and would not even look for this loan application or offer. They finally got what hey wanted my 95 year old home that I loved. If I could have gotten a loan mod I would have not been writing this note. This devasted me almost took my life and just like now with this settlement on the mortgage they aren't going to do anything and no one can make them. That is so wrong. I really tried I still want my home back or the $125,000 CAn anyone help me please.
View full review
ID
#524145 Review #524145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$125000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Indymac Bank - Dream house ended in a nightmare!

Hi, I purchased a property with this bank and they stop taking my payments with out any reason on December of 2011. when I call to make the payment they indicated that, due to the decrease on the value of the property they were forced to stop taking payments and they will put the house in foreclosure. I didn't believe what I heard but unfortunately I lost $65,000.00 dollars that I give for down payment and the 8 years that I invest on this property. also I spent almost $8,000.00 in lawyers with out any resolution due to this situation my health got affected and we ended up selling the house on short sale. I did not believe that a bank can do something like that when you are current on your mortgage. I would like to post this online in order to protect other innocent people that are out and are considering to invest on this bank for their dreams house.
View full review
ID
#519140 Review #519140 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
Loss
$145000

IndyMac bank entered into a loan modification with my ex-wife, without my consent

I was divorced in 2008, as part of the divorce decree my ex-wife was awarded the primary residence in which both of us were party to the mortgage. Beginning around March-April 2012 my ex-wife started working with OneWest Bank to do a refinance and remove my name from the mortgage. As part of this process I signed a quitclaim deed that was provided to the lender. During the process, my ex-wife was told repeatedly by representatives of OneWest Bank that my name would be removed from the loan at the end of this process. However, the end result was that a loan modification was done and not a refinance. Other than signing over the quitclaim deed, I provided no information (no paystubs, no tax statements) and signed nothing during the loan modification process. Although I signed nothing, my name remained part of the mortgage. Since then, my ex-wife has defaulted on the loan and my credit has been destroyed. Essentially, a contract was modified without my consent, and I am being held accountable for the new terms of the contract. I have asked multiple times to have my name removed by OneWest bank, and have also requested that my credit be removed through the credit bureaus. The bureaus claim that since my name is still on the mortgage that the black marks are valid. OneWest Bank claims that since my ex-wife provided a divorce decree and I signed a quitclaim deed, that they didn’t need my signature on anything to do the modification and still keep my name attached to it. On 13-Aug-2013 and 05-Sept-2013, I wrote OneWest bank asking them to remove the negative reports to credit bureaus and to remove my name from the loan, questioning the validity and legality of their actions. I received the same response both times, that everything is legal and valid. I had taken my wife to court for contempt (because she wasn’t paying a student loan that I was still cosigned on, as well as the mortgage), and got a statement from the judge stating that she was 100% responsible for the loan and provided that to OneWest Bank. On 29-Oct-2013, I wrote OneWest Bank again and asked them for all copies of all original mortgage papers as well as all of the loan modification paperwork. They provided the original mortgage paperwork, but did NOT provide the loan modification paperwork. I called again yesterday 24-June-2013 to request all of that paperwork again and was told that they don’t send that stuff out. I was also told again that they didn’t need my signature to do a loan modification. I agree that with the divorce decree and quitclaim deed that they could do a modification with my ex-wife without my input or consent, but they can't then hold me accountable for the new deal that I had nothing to do with.
View full review
ID
#501995 Review #501995 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Loss
$100000

Indymac Bank - RENIGGED ON THE LOAN MODIFICATION OFFERED - ADVISED WE SHOULD FILE BK TO SAVE HOUSE - WRONGFUL FORECLOSURE

IndyMac, you offered us a loan modification back in 2008 and you renigged on that modification. Your representative literally laughed sadistically at the fact you were foreclosing on us and advised us to file bankruptcy if we wanted to save our house. You foreclosed on us without giving us written notice and auctioned our home without notice. Now, we have completed an independent foreclosure review and are waiting to see if you at least make it right with our losses by remunerating us at least the $100k option. We lost all our downpayment, investment in the house and so much more. We are watching to see if you make this right -- OUR attorney and us are watching...
View full review
3 comments
Kristi
#875403

I waited for Foreclosure Review to "make it right" with me after stealing my house and all my personal property. I received a Jive letter from modification escalator, Wesley Klepfer and only WPF* would it have any validity.

The escalator before him, Joseph Kiaune, sent me an empty envelope- this was in line with empty suits that showed up in court, lied, produced dirty paper (potential felonies for lawyers). Navigant was supposed to be the reviewers but I received this phony letter from Rusk reviewers saying One West did not break any laws whereas, in fact, they did not comply with any laws including Truth in lending. All documents recorded are Robo signed. in Calif.

we have the Homeowner's Bill of Rights that covers lawyers fees. Am looking for motivated lawyers who knows what a fraudulent Bank (hedge fund) One West is. We cannot let them be publicly traded (IPO). Sign the on-line petition to Holter against them.* WPF - When Pigs Fly.

Anyone up for Class Action Lawsuit. They already had to settle for over 1 mil. and give two homes back in San Luis Obispo. They are also not selling the houses the stole from us - perhaps the paperwork is too fraudulent.

I hope folks will keep telling their stories.

There must be some resolution for us. Did anyone get anything from Foreclosure Review.

Anonymous
#811037

Indy mac was taken over by federal government in 2008. I got sick and could not work for 2 weeks, so my pay was docked.

I called the bank to ask for payment plan to pay November 2008 mortgage. Federal Government, running the bank offered me trial modification. Before my trial was over they sold the bank to one West. They denied the modification.

This is April 2014 and I'm still fighting to save my house. One West is criminals.

Someone needs to bring a classes action lawsuit on them. :x

Kristi
#875405
@PissedConsumer811037

Yes, I agree. Total criminal bank.

They did not comply with Civil Laws or Criminal laws. Can sue for both now in California. Recording false (Robosigned) documents can carry Felony charges. These folks need to give back our homes, and then go to jail !!!

Has anyone made a complaint with Consumer Affairs? and did they help?

View more comments (2)
ID
#476298 Review #476298 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Eugene, Oregon

Indymac Bank - Four years to be denied home loan modification, then sent to foreclosure!

I have dutifully paid my mortgage each month since March, 2005, even when to do so meant I didn’t buy groceries or worked long hours away from my family. When the market crashed and my husband lost most of his income, and I could not generate enough money to stay afloat, I contacted IndyMac and filed for Home Loan Modification. I was denied based on the failure to prove hardship (I was told that because I was still making the payments, I was not suffering hardship). I filed for bankruptcy in May, 2009. It was dismissed because my husband earned a commission the week that I filed. I was left with all the debt, the damage to my credit and did not have access to any of my husband’s funds. My daughter became ill, the bills skyrocketed, and there was no way to keep everything going. I filed again for Home Loan Modification and was again denied. I consulted with an attorney at PrePaid Legal who outlined my options and told me that until I went delinquent with the mortgage, they wouldn’t approve me. I told her that I wasn’t that kind of person and didn’t believe that it was in integrity just to stop paying the mortgage. My husband lost two of his three major clients- one to death and one to divorce. Our income sank again. I increased my hours to the extent that I was no longer able to spend much time with my children. I again applied, and was again denied. In the Spring of 2012, I received information about an attorney who could facilitate Home Loan Modification Applications. With borrowed money, I paid him his fees, hopeful that we would finally be able to achieve some relief. We paid the mortgage until we had exhausted every last dime of our retirement account and could no longer make the payments. After two months, we resumed making the payments. In March, 2013 we were informed that IndyMac had passed a new regulation that they would no longer accept anything other than payment in full (the mortgage payment as well as the two months that we were in arrears). If we were unable to make payment in full, they would simply return the mortgage check. They refused to accept our mortgage payments from March, 2013 on. By the Fall, despite the fact that we were actively in the Home Loan Modification process, WITH AN ATTORNEY REPRESENTING US, IndyMac filed initiated foreclosure proceedings on our home. We have been informed that our home will be sold at auction on February 4, 2014. Despite the fact that we have provided EVERYTHING IndyMac has required (they now have three years worth of bank records for my husband and I), they continued to find reasons to reject the requested materials! For example, because I have listed my husband as a party willing to contribute funds towards the mortgage (even though he does not own the home, nor is he on the mortgage), they have required bank statements, Verification of Employment, and pay stubs for him. Because he works for LPL, and they pay by Direct Deposit, IndyMac is stating that the documents are being rejected and will not be considered until we provide pay stubs- which we cannot get! When we finally had EVERY document into underwriting, we were told that IndyMac sold our note to OCWEN- starting the entire process of modification over again with a new company!!! It seems that nothing applies to us—not the Mortgage Settlement that CA was able to achieve (IndyMac wasn’t part of that), not the HAMP, not the HLMP… We are people who work hard to have a home for our family of 7. We are not receiving government aid, work more than 40 hours per week, and tried to stay current with our home loan. Now we are so far under water we are sinking. If my credit hadn’t been burned by filing Bankruptcy (which I didn’t get!), I would have borrowed money to refinance the house, but filing Bk tanked my credit until 2016, and now that I had delinquencies in July and August, 2012, my hopes of ever regaining sufficient credit to refinance are gone. Is it really reasonable that people like me- those who want to meet their obligations, who have income to do so- can’t get a rate that matches what EVERYONE ELSE has access to now (we have 7.7%, while others enjoy 3%)??? This company MUST BE STOPPED.
View full review
ID
#469873 Review #469873 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Indymac Bank - Under handed tactics, Lies and robbery

My husband lost his job and we went to IndyMac, Division of One West, after being ripped off by "The Lawyers Group" for a loan modification. They had us fill out the information and fax to them. Took forever and then they claimed there were documents missing. I redid the entire packet and mailed it certified mail and refaxed it. They claimed they were looking for only certain pages so didn't look at the packet so we were told we missed the cutoff. We did however get offered a "good deal" more years to pay 30 to 40, interest did drop from 8% to 4.75%. along the way we paid twice for attorney fees for foreclosure, their attorney fees and the foreclosure process was started because they said they didn't receive the information and they told us not to make payments til the process was complete. That only happened one month. Why are there no trustworthy companies out there anymore, what is happening.... now they say we do not qualify for the foreclosure independent review. UGHHHHHHH
View full review
ID
#412874 Review #412874 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Loss
$12000

Indymac Bank - Took money with no accounting

Indy Mac recently shorted my payment by $60. The statement showed the amount I paid but the accounting came up $60 short. When I called customer service they said it was for fees but that they would not account for the fees on my statement? This seems unethical and in my opinion is stealing and they just don't care. Her story kept changing. First she said I had asked for a quote and that there was a charge. Then she said someone else, not me, asked for this quote and wanted it faxed for which there was a charge. When I questioned how they could just give my personal information out she then said they didn't call and used the automated system. Then how was there a fax charge? Unbelievable.
View full review
ID
#406168 Review #406168 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cameron Park, California

Indymac Bank - Passwords

I have lost my home to indy mac, they have no sale dates assigned, thru this whole ordeal they entered my home several times, changed my locks and left my dfoors wode open. i was living there and had my belongings in the home, i was in the process of moving as they continued to enter my home. i finally gave up attempting to modify as everytime i went to court their attorney would scribble on my modification papaers and then tell me to start over, i downloaded off the indy mac site and they insisted i downloaded the wrong papers, forget it, they dont want to help you, they just want to play games and drag it out for higher fees. Now i have lost the case, they foreclosure judgement was given to them, i need to know the sale date, they tell me i need my password, which i never had a password and if its MY PASSWORD how did it get there, they wont even tell me anything.
View full review
ID
#404878 Review #404878 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hartford, Connecticut

Indymac Bank - No he podido modificar el prestamo

He tratado de modificar 4 veces, y nunca han querido ayudar, no actuan de Buena fe, de las 4 ocaciones solo una me dieron por escrito la razon,lo que no me ha permitido ver donde esta el problema para remediarlo.El capital que se amaze pizoteando a los demas no es saludable.Cada vez que hablas *** un representante te dice cosas diferentes, entonces no sabes nunca lo que este ocurriendo, ni que puedes creer de lo que te han dicho, si alguien puede aconsejarme en este asunto lo agradeceria, no encuentro que puedo hacer en este caso y necesito ayuda.
View full review
ID
#400784 Review #400784 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Naples, Florida

Indymac Bank - Indy Mac stole my home lied,refused to work with us to keep our home

My loan was sold to Indy Mac. The first contact with they was to tell me my mortgage was two months past due and I didn't even know who they were.i called and found they had bought my mortgage. In 2010 I asked for a loan modification packet I never received anything. Again in 2011 I asked for a loan modification packet again I never recieved anything. I had rented the property in 2008. The renters began to be late with their rent then stopped paying rent all together. They also destroyed my house. The codes officer had been sending letters for them to clean up the property. This we didn't know. My husband went th the renters and told them we needed to try to clean the place up and they needed to start catching up on the back rent. They told us they didn't have to do anything so we had no choice but to have them evicted. We then took a weekend to clean the outside when we went to clean the inside it was awful. I didn't know people could live in such filth. They let their animals use the front room and down stairs for the bathroom. The urine and *** was so bad you could smell it without opening the door it had soaked through the floors into the basement. The insulation was dripping. It was the worst thing I have seen. We had to gut the house. It took us about a year to just get part of it live able. During this time we still tried to keep up the mortgage. I tried to get another modification. On 11/9/2012 I sent a $4000.00 payment to reinstate my mortgage and avoid forcloser. I was told it must be there before 11/16/2012 so I sent it overnight and registered mail. I call for 7 days. They said they didn't have it .they sent the check back 12/20/2012 and said it wasn't certified .i sent my statement with the check that included the amount I was to send . I ended up having to get a lawyer to help me try to get a loan modification. Isn't in SIX loan mod packets they wouldn't even postpone my home sale one day. They wouldn't help with anything. They told me I just needed to file bankrupt. I owed them $8000.00. They sold my house at public auction.
View full review
ID
#396202 Review #396202 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Knoxville, Tennessee

Indymac Bank - I am on the same sinking ship

I could literally cut and paste any of the complaints because they are exactly the same story as mine. Has anyone gotten any answers? I have been doing the Modification song and dance moves for going on 2 years now. They now will not accept my payment of 1 months mortgage...unless I pay 4 mos complete. Does this make any sense? I think I am being forced into foreclosure, if I had known that I would have not paid for more months so that I would be able to rent somewhere. Has this happened to anyone else? I am losing my mind over this.
View full review
ID
#390125 Review #390125 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Worcester, Massachusetts

Indymac Bank - TRIED TO PAY OFF INDYMAC LOAN

INDYMAC seems to have an identity problem and so, because it doesn't seem to know, from one employee to the next, what their proper beneficiary address is for electronic wires, people like us, wind up being late on our payments when, in fact, we were just trying to pay off our 103K loan. NNow, they expect us to pay another payment of over 1K on top of the balance we thought we paid off in the middle of December.NICE GAME YOU PLAY, INDYMAC. VERY CLEVER AND SO, I MUST COMMEND YOU ON YOUR LEGERDEMAIN, BUT I PRAY THE PEOPLE RUIN YOU.
View full review
ID
#377658 Review #377658 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Portland, Oregon
Loss
$1000